Miami Heat Take Away Pressure From L.A. Lakers

Ah, winning an NBA Championship. The greatest feeling a pro basketball player could ever feel. All the hard work, blood and sweat, determination, and time away from family has all finally paid off.

It is something that only 17 NBA franchises have ever won, with the Los Angeles Lakers winning 16 times.

Only the Boston Celtics, Los Angeles Lakers, Detroit Pistons, Chicago Bulls, and Houston Rockets have ever won back-to-back titles, and Boston, L.A., and Chicago are the only teams to win three in a row.

The pressures of being crowned NBA Champions and coming into the next season as defending world champions is a stature in and of itself. Dealing with players leaving, injuries, coaching changes, or even management changes can all come into effect when trying to repeat the next season.

But trying to come back and win the title for a third straight year? The pressures and stakes of winning a third championship in a row should never be higher for one team.


Not the case for the Los Angeles Lakers going into the 2010-11 season. Why you might ask? 

Most of you may already know the answer: The Miami Heat's so called "super-team" down in South Beach.

The Heat have added two perennial All-Stars to play alongside one already, as LeBron James and Chris Bosh joined Dwyane Wade in Miami.

The Heat have also many other great players to their roster. Past All-Stars in Juwan Howard and Zydrunas Ilgauskas are onboard, arguably the best pure shooter in the league, Mike Miller, and savvy veteran Eddie House.

On paper these Heat cannot lose!

While that may seem the case, everyone is forgetting about those back-to-back champion Lakers, who have added a few pieces to their championship team.

Matt Barnes—a great veteran defender who played for the Magic last season and was in charge...

About the Author