Who Would Win a L.A. Lakers-Only Dunk Contest?

Surprise, surprise. No Los Angeles Lakers were invited to participate in the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk.

As we have heard all year long, the Lakers are old and slow. There's no disputing that. The roster certainly does not abound with leapers and runners worthy of showcasing their athletic supremacy on the big stage in Houston this weekend.

But what if the team held their own, private dunk extravaganza? Who would come out on top?

It's an interesting question, even if the contest itself may not be a rim rocker. The Lakers do have two former slam dunk champions on the squad.

Kobe Bryant took home the crown as a rookie way back in 1997, capping off his performance with a smooth between-the-legs jam.

Interestingly enough, Bryant had the longest reign of any dunk contest winner. After his victory in '97, the dunk contest was not held again until 2000.

Then there's Dwight Howard, who participated in three consecutive competitions from 2007-2009. In '08, he took flight as Superman for an iconic throwdown (literally) to capture his sole slam dunk trophy.

Those two would certainly be the headliners coming in, but who else would compete?

First, let's rule out the point guards. The only one who can throw down is Darius Morris, but he can't get high enough to do anything too creative in the air.

Second, say goodbye to all the centers who don't wear capes. Robert Sacre will be my go-to guy for all post-dunk celebrations, but I'm afraid that's the only role Bobby Sacks will be playing in this competition.

Pau Gasol would fare much better in a layup contest than a dunk contest, but I'm sure he'd rather take the "I'm injured" excuse.

Jordan Hill is also ineligible due to injury. He would be an intriguing candidate with his blend of size and athleticism, but I suspect he doesn't have much in his repertoire besides power dunks anyways...

About the Author